2022 Murray Elliott Award Recipient – Patrick Robertson

November 23, 2022

The Teacher Education Office is pleased to announce Patrick Robertson as the 2022 recipient of the Murray Elliott Award for Outstanding Contributions to Teacher Education in the Faculty of Education.

Patrick Robertson (BA, BEd, MA) has been in the field of education for over two decades, notably as a classroom teacher in West Vancouver School District and a teacher educator at Simon Fraser University and at UBC where he currently co-leads the Education for Sustainability (EFS) teacher education cohort.

An alum of our BEd program, Patrick joined the faculty team in 2011 and is grateful for the support and collaboration of extraordinary colleagues across departments and faculties at UBC. He has served as a Sessional Lecturer for multiple cohorts and co-led research initiatives, notably exploring pathways for positive impact in education that led to the launch of the EFS Cohort in 2018. Teacher education, mentorship and professional development are deep passions and the priorities of climate education, truth and reconciliation, and justice are ongoing commitments.

Patrick also works in the policy realm, contributing to the renewed BC Science Curriculum and more recent policy initiatives focused on climate education, and serves as a director for various provincial and national organizations focused on sustainability, climate justice, place and land-based learning, and educational transformation. He is humbled and honoured to continue this essential work together.

Congratulations, Patrick!

This award honours full-time and sessional faculty, staff and other persons associated with the Faculty of Education who have made an outstanding contribution to the Teacher Education Program at UBC.

The recipient will receive a plaque along with a Pendleton blanket. In addition, the recipient’s name will be displayed in the Faculty alongside other recipients of the award.

Thank you to the adjudication committee – Yvonne Dawydiak, Dr. Bathseba Opini, Dr. Karen Ragoonaden, and John Yamamoto.