2018 Murray Elliot Service Award for Outstanding Contributions to the Teacher Education Program

The 2018 recipient of the Murray Elliot Service Award is:

Dr. Kedrick James

Dr. Kedrick James is a Senior Instructor in the Department of Language and Literacy Education at the University of British Columbia and Director of the Digital Literacy Centre. His scholarship, research, and teaching focus on writing pedagogy, automation of literacy, and poetics of transmediation. He is a poet, digital ecologist, environmentalist, and multimedia artist.

This award honours full-time and sessional faculty, staff and other persons associated with the Faculty of Education who have made an outstanding contribution to the Teacher Education Program at UBC.

The recipient will receive a plaque along with a Pendleton blanket. In addition, the recipient’s name will be displayed in the Faculty alongside other recipients of the award.

The nomination package should include 3 letters of nomination that address the following criteria:

  • The recipient will have shown exceptional dedication, leadership skills, and commitment to the ongoing improvement of the UBC Teacher Education Program over an extended period of time.
  • A detailed overview of the nominee’s accomplishments and/or contribution to the Teacher Education Program.
    Nomination in one year does not restrict the individual from being nominated in subsequent years; however, an individual may only receive the award once.

Nominations must be submitted to:

Dr. Marianne McTavish

Associate Dean of Teacher Education Office
Chair, Awards Committee (Murray Elliott Service Award)
Teacher Education Office
103-2125 Main Mall, Vancouver, V6T 1Z4

2018Dr. Kedrick James
2017Dr. Marianne McTavish
2016Jo-Anne Naslund
2015Dr. Jan Hare
2014Dr. Margaret Early
2013Dr. Linda Farr Darling
2011Dr. Sydney Craig
2010Dr. Wendy Carr & Brenda Lamb
2009Dr. Gaalen Erickson
2008Dr. Anthony Clarke & Dr. Margot Filipenko
2007Dr. Deidre Kelly
2006Dr. Elizabeth Jordan
2005Dr. Frank Echols & Dr. Kit Grauer
2004Dr. Joe Belanger
2003Dr. Charles Ungerleider
2002Dr. Marilyn Chapman
2001Dr. Murray Elliott